LISTSERV mailing list manager LISTSERV 15.5

Help for OPERA-L Archives

OPERA-L Archives

OPERA-L Archives


Next Message | Previous Message
Next in Topic | Previous in Topic
Next by Same Author | Previous by Same Author
Chronologically | Most Recent First
Proportional Font | Monospaced Font


Join or Leave OPERA-L
Reply | Post New Message
Search Archives

Subject: London puts on 10-day welcome Rattle fest [feedly]
From: E J Michel <[log in to unmask]>
Reply-To:E J Michel <[log in to unmask]>
Date:Tue, 17 Jan 2017 07:47:26 -0500

text/plain (52 lines)

London puts on 10-day welcome Rattle fest
// @Slipped Disc

From the LSO’s season announcement this morning:

– Sir Simon Rattle’s inaugural season launched with ten-day musical celebration
– Young people and new audiences at the heart of future plans – new ticket schemes announced

– Stockhausen masterpiece to be staged at Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall

– 2017/18 season highlights announced

– British composers a major focus 

– LSO digital partnerships bring the orchestra to the world

The London Symphony Orchestra today unveiled the first stage of ambitious plans for the future under its new Music Director, Sir Simon Rattle, who will take up his post in September 2017.  The plans will unfold over the next three years, developed by Simon Rattle in close partnership with the musicians of the Orchestra, and in collaboration with the Barbican Centre and the Guildhall School of Music & Drama, as Artist in Association.

In his words:

“The London Symphony Orchestra, over a century, has an extraordinary heritage and history. At its core is an orchestra that is always looking forwards, accepting no limitations on what it can achieve. The programme we are announcing today gives a glimmer of things to come. Together we intend to explore the great masterpieces, build our community, and inspire a new generation to join us in the belief that music is for everybody.”

Plans announced today include:

A ten-day celebration to mark Sir Simon Rattle’s first season as Music Director running from 14 – 24 September 2017 
Amongst the highlights of the celebration, staged in collaboration with the Barbican Centre and the Guildhall School, will be an all-British line-up of composers for the opening concert including a new commission to rising star Helen Grime; a London/Paris link up to celebrate Stravinsky in partnership with the Philharmonie de Paris; a ‘Silent Symphony’ live broadcast of the opening concert to personal headsets in the Barbican Sculpture Court; the creation of an opera in a day with children and young people; and a chance for the public to get behind-the-scenes as Sir Simon Rattle prepares the orchestra for a performance of Berlioz’s The Damnation of Faust. The BBC will broadcast live throughout the 10 days including three symphonic concerts in the Barbican Hall and four chamber concerts from LSO St Luke’s. The final concert will be streamed live on the LSO’s YouTube Channel and on Classic FM’s website.

Young people and new audiences are at the heart of the plans for the future 
In a new scheme announced today, all tickets for under-18s at LSO Barbican concerts will be £5. 2017 also sees the launch of a new initiative to reach audiences: early evening concerts which will be conducted by Gianandrea Noseda, Sir Simon Rattle and François-Xavier Roth, will offer an hour of world-class orchestral music at the end of the working day. The acclaimed LSO Discovery programme already reaching 60,000 people a year will continue its development and growth. Announced today is a new three-year programme, supported by Youth Music, to increase substantially the provision of musical opportunities for young people in east London with special educational needs and disabilities, working in partnership with nine Music Education Hubs and specialist arts organisations.

New staging of Stockhausen at Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall
Looking beyond the next season, in 2018, Sir Simon Rattle will direct a performance of Karlheinz Stockhausen’s masterpiece, Gruppen (1955-57) in the Turbine Hall of Tate Modern. Scored for 120 musicians divided into three orchestras, this work, more than a concert, an event that envelops and surrounds the audience, is regarded as a landmark in 20th century music.


Shared via my feedly newsfeed

Sent from my iPad
OPERA-L on Facebook:
To UNSUBSCRIBE, send a message to [log in to unmask]
containing only the words:  SIGNOFF OPERA-L
To stay subscribed but TURN OFF mail, send a message to
[log in to unmask] containing only the words:  SET OPERA-L NOMAIL
Modify your settings:

Back to: Top of Message | Previous Page | Main OPERA-L Page



CataList Email List Search Powered by the LISTSERV Email List Manager